News Flash

Posted on: October 1, 2018

The Fifth Risk : Undoing Democracy

Fifth risk

"The election happened," remembers Elizabeth Sherwood-Randall, then deputy secretary of the Department of Energy. "And then there was radio silence." Across all departments, similar stories were playing out: Trump appointees were few a...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Every Breath

Every breath

"Nicholas Sparks returns with his signature combination of gripping, emotionally resonant storytelling and love overcoming all odds"-- Provided by publisher.

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Elevation

Elevation

Set in the fictional town of Castle Rock, Maine The latest from legendary master storyteller Stephen King, a riveting, extraordinarily eerie, and moving story about a man whose mysterious affliction brings a small town together--a timely, upbeat tale abou...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Desperate Measures

Desperate Measures

Stone Barrington faces down danger on New York's mean streets in the latest thriller from perennial fan favorite Stuart Woods. Upon returning to the states from a European jaunt, Stone Barrington makes the acquaintance of a stunning woman who seems like s...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Dark Sacred Night

Dark Sacred Night

Harry Bosch teams up with LAPD Detective Renée Ballard in the new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Michael Connelly. Detective Renée Ballard is working the night beat--known in LAPD slang as "the late show"--...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

The Clockmaker's Daughter

The Clockmaker's Daughter

"A rich, spellbinding new novel from the author of The Lake House - the story of a love affair and a mysterious murder that cast their shadows across generations, set in England from the 1860's until the present day"-- Provided by publisher.

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

The Big Fella : Babe Ruth and the World He Created

The Big Fella

From Jane Leavy, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Boy and Sandy Koufax, comes the definitive biography of Babe Ruth--the man Roger Angell dubbed "the model for modern celebrity." He lived in the present tense--in ...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Always Look on the Bright Side of Life : A Sortabiography

always Look on the Bright Side of Life

From the ingenious comic performer, founding member of Monty Python, and creator of Spamalot , comes an absurdly funny memoir of unparalleled wit and heartfelt candor We know him best for his unforgettable roles on Monty Python--from the Flying Circus to ...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

A Noise Daownstairs

A Noise Downstairs

After a college professor catches a colleague trying to dispose of two dead bodies, his quiet life is shattered. He suffers from PTSD and begins to believe that a typewriter--a present from his wife--is making typing noises on its own. Is he losing his mi...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Killing Commendatore

Killing

The epic new novel from the internationally acclaimed and best-selling author of 1Q84 In Killing Commendatore, a thirty-something portrait painter in Tokyo is abandoned by his wife and finds himself holed up in the mountain home of a famous artist, Tomohi...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Holy Ghost

Holy Ghost

Virgil Flowers investigates a miracle--and a murder--in the wickedly entertaining new thriller from the master of "pure reading pleasure" ( Booklist ) Pinion, Minnesota: a metropolis of all of seven hundred souls, for which the word "moribu...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

The Fox

The Fox

The #1 New York Times -bestselling master of international intrigue takes readers into the bleeding-edge world of technological espionage in a propulsive thriller that feels chillingly real. Former chief of the British Secret Intelligence Service Adrian W...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Gone So Long

Gone So Long

Few writers can enter their characters so completely or evoke their lives as viscerally as Andre Dubus III. In this deeply compelling new novel, a father, estranged for the worst of reasons, is driven to seek out the daughter he has not seen in decades.Da...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

GMORNING, GNIGHT! : little pep talks for me & you

gmorning gnight

From the creator and star of Hamilton, with beautiful illustrations by Jonny Sun, comes a book of affirmations to inspire readers at the beginning and end of each day. "When the world is bringing you down, Gmorning, Gnight! will remind you that you a...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Ambush

Ambush

Only Detective Michael Bennett stands in the way of two lethal cartels fighting for New York City's multi-million -dollar opioid trade. And they know where Bennett, and his family, live. An anonymous tip about a crime in Upper Manhattan proves to be a set...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Thirst : A Story of Redemption, Compassion, and a Mission to Bring Clean Water to the World

Thirst

An inspiring personal story of redemption, second chances, and the transformative power within us all, from the founder and CEO of the nonprofit charity: water. At 28 years old, Scott Harrison had it all. A top nightclub promoter in New York City, his lif...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

a spark of light

Spark of Light

"The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things returns with a powerful and provocative new novel about ordinary lives that intersect during a heart-stopping crisis. The warm fall day starts like any other at the Center a women's repr...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

There There

There There

"This is a novel about what it means to inhabit a land both yours and stolen from you, to simultaneously contend with the weight of belonging and unbelonging. There is an organic power to this book--a revelatory, controlled chaos. Tommy Orange writes...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Taking the Arrow Out of the Heart

Taking the Arrow out of the Heart

Alice Walker, author of the National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize-winning The Color Purple-- "an American novel of permanent importance" ( San Francisco Chronicle)-- crafts a bilingual collection that is both playfully imaginative and intensely...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Shell

Shell

In this spellbinding and poignant historical novel--perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Flamethrowers --a Swedish glassmaker and a fiercely independent Australian journalist are thrown together amidst the turmoil of the 1960s and the d...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Shade : A Tale of Two Presidents

Shade

From Pete Souza, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Obama: An Intimate Portrait , comes a powerful tribute to a bygone era of integrity in politics. As Chief Official White House Photographer, Pete Souza spent more time alongside President Barack...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

The Reckoning

Reckoning

John Grisham's The Reckoning is the master storyteller's most powerful, surprising, and accomplished novel yet October 1946, Clanton, Mississippi Pete Banning was Clanton, Mississippi's favorite son--a decorated World War II hero, the patriarch of a promi...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Presidents of War

Presidents of War

"From a preeminent presidential historian comes a groundbreaking and often surprising saga of America's wartime chief executives Ten years in the research and writing,Presidents of Waris a fresh, magisterial, intimate look at a procession of American...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

The Next Person You Meet in Heaven

The Next Person You Meet in Heaven

In this enchanting sequel to the number one bestseller The Five People You Meet in Heaven, Mitch Albom tells the story of Eddie's heavenly reunion with Annie--the little girl he saved on earth--in an unforgettable novel of how our lives and losses interse...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Witness: lessons from Elie Wiesel's classroom

Witness

In the vein of Tuesdays with Morrie , a devoted protégé and friend of one of the world's great thinkers takes us into the sacred space of the classroom, showing Holocaust survivor and Nobel Peace Prize recipient Elie Wiesel not only ...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

The Witch Elm

Witch Elm

"A brilliant new work of suspense from "the most important crime novelist to emerge in the past 10 years." (Washington Post) From the writer who "inspires cultic devotion in readers" (The New Yorker) and has been called "inca...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

When the Men Were Gone

When the Men Were Gone

In Marjorie Herrera Lewis's debut historical novel the inspiring true story of high school teacher Tylene Wilson--a woman who surprises everyone as she breaks with tradition to become the first high school football coach in Texas--comes to life. "A w...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

War of the Wolf

War of the Wolf

Bernard Cornwell's epic story of the making of England continues in this eleventh installment in the bestselling Saxon Tales series--"like Game of Thrones, but real" (The Observer)--the basis of the hit Netflix television series The Last Kingdom...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Unsub

Unsub

"A riveting psychological thriller inspired by the never-caught Zodiac Killer, about a young detective determined to apprehend the serial murderer who destroyed her family and terrorized a city twenty years earlier. Caitlin Hendrix has been a Narcoti...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Unsheltered

Unsheltered

The New York Times bestselling author of Flight Behavior, The Lacuna, and The Poisonwood Bible and recipient of numerous literary awards--including the National Humanities Medal, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and the Orange Prize--returns with a timely...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

Tuesday Nights

Tuesday Night

More than 200 simple weeknight dinners that deliver big weekend flavors in under an hour--with many that take only 25 minutes--f rom Christopher Kimball, one of Epicurious ' 100 Greatest Home Cooks of All Time. At Christopher Kimball's Milk Street, Tuesda...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: October 1, 2018

This Will Only Hurt a Little

This Will Only Hurt a Little

A  hilarious, heartfelt, and refreshingly honest memoir by the beloved comedic actress known for her roles on Freaks and Geeks , Dawson's Creek , and Cougar Town who has become "the breakout star of Instagram stories...Imagine I Love Lucy mi...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel
Posted on: September 7, 2018

Contempt: A Memoir of the Clinton Investigation

Contempt

Twenty years after the Starr Report and the Clinton impeachment, former special prosecutor Ken Starr finally shares his definitive account of one of the most divisive periods in American history. Starr's narrative includes behind-the-scenes details that h...

Read on...

Go to Catalog Book Carousel