News Flash

Book Carousel

Posted on: July 17, 2020

My Mother's House

My Mother's House

"A shockingly original exploration of class, race, and systemic violence . . . This house, tainted by the human evil it contains, is reminiscent of the opening line of Toni Morrison’s Beloved. And, like Morrison, Momplaisir uses the tropes of fantasy to try to assert truths that ordinary language and realistic imagery cannot communicate . . . Momplaisir’s debut introduces her as an author to watch." —Kirkus

For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mohsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person’s damages can have on the lives of others—told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors

When Lucien flees Haiti with his wife, Marie-Ange, and their three children to New York City’s South Ozone Park, he does so hoping for reinvention, wealth, and comfort. He buys a rundown house in a community that is quickly changing from an Italian enclave of mobsters to a haven for Haitian immigrants, and begins life anew. Lucien and Marie-Ange call their home La Kay - "my mother’s house" - and it becomes a place where their fellow immigrants can find peace, a good meal, and legal help. But as a severely emotionally damaged man emigrating from a country whose evils he knows to one whose evils he doesn’t, Lucien soon falls into his worst habits and impulses, with La Kay as the backdrop for his lasciviousness. What he can’t even begin to fathom is that the house is watching, passing judgment, and deciding to put an end to all the sins it has been made to hold. But only after it has set itself aflame will frightened whispers reveal Lucien’s ultimate evil.
At once an uncompromising look at the immigrant experience and an electrifying page-turner, My Mother’s House is a singular, unforgettable achievement.

Go to Overdrive
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Book Carousel

Big Summer

Big Summer

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Broken Glass

Broken Glass

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Fair Warning

Fair Warning

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Fallout

Fallout

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Five Days

Five Days

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Hardest Job in the World

The Hardest Job in the World

Posted on: July 17, 2020
Home Before Dark

Home Before Dark

Posted on: July 17, 2020
Mexican Gothic

Mexican Gothic

Posted on: July 17, 2020
RapAnn's All

RapAnn's All

Posted on: July 17, 2020
The Best New True Crime Stories

The Best New True Crime Stories

Posted on: July 17, 2020
Too Much is Never Enough

Too Much is Never Enough

Posted on: July 17, 2020
Walk the Wire

Walk the Wire

Posted on: July 17, 2020